A Place To Bury Strangers

A Place To Bury Strangers is an American, New York–based noise rock band, composed of Oliver Ackermann (guitar/vocals), Dion Lunadon (bass guitar) and Robi Gonzalez (drums). The band plays a heavy, atmospheric wall of sound-influenced blend of psychedelic rock, shoegaze and space rock. The band is commonly known by the initials APTBS.

A Place to Bury Strangers was formed in 2002 by David Goffan and Tim Gregorio. Current frontman and guitarist Oliver Ackermann had moved to New York City, following the disbanding of his previous group, Skywave, to join the group and become the primary songwriter after the departure of Goffan. They played their first show at Luxx in Brooklyn in 2003. Jay Space and Jono Mofo, both from the New York City-based band MOFO, joined the band when Tim Gregorio left. In 2006, APTBS handmade three different untitled EPs with different colour schemes; these later become known as the Red, Blue and Green EPs.

In 2007, Jon Whitney from Killer Pimp Records wrote on a napkin the contract for their first release, A Place to Bury Strangers. In August 2007, the band gained national attention after a favorable Pitchfork Media review of this album.

In 2007, the band joined Black Rebel Motorcycle Club on the "Holy Fuck" tour.

In April 2008, it was announced that the band would open for Nine Inch Nails for several dates on their US tour.

The band's first UK release was in May 2008, via Rocket Girl, when they played a handful of UK shows and received strong praise from the British media with early support from NME and Kerrang!. In November 2008, the band returned to Europe and the UK on tour supporting MGMT. Their album, out the same month, once again made a stir in the UK media.

In early 2009, APTBS signed to Mute Records. The band also announced another European tour and appearances at the Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival, Seaport Music Festival, Rock al Parque and Siren Music Festival.

Their second album, ‘Exploding Head’, was released in October 2009.

In early spring 2010, it was discovered that Jono MOFO had decided to leave the band for personal reasons rather than tour with the band during their US tour supporting The Big Pink. He was replaced for that spring tour by Dion Lunadon, formerly of the bands The D4 and The True Lovers.

On July 5, 2010, APTBS went for the first time to Bogotá in Colombia and played in Rock al Parque, the largest free rock festival in South America.

On February 14, 2011, Ackermann stated that the band had begun working on their third full-length album.

On February 12, 2012, the band announced that Robi Gonzalez was taking over drumming duties for A Place To Bury Strangers. They also thanked former drummer, Jay Space, for his contribution to the band.

On May 2, 2012, it was confirmed that the third album of the band, "Worship", was scheduled to be released on June 11 in the UK and Europe, and on June 26, 2012 in the US via Dead Oceans label. The band announced plans to support the release with a full North American tour in October 2012.

It was announced in early March 2013, that the band had recorded covers of songs from the Portland band, Dead Moon. They plan to release these covers on Record Store Day 2013 as an EP titled ‘Strange Moon’. 

In March 2013, the band began recording their 4th studio album. They recorded for several days at ABC Studios in Etne, Norway with Emil Nikolaisen of Serena Maneesh. Then, in May, APTBS released a 7" via Sweet Mistakes Productions, free with the Fractal Press Magazine, issue #135.


There is no record found at the moment.

Mailing List


New Releases

PVT - Morning Mist, Rock Island Bend


Morning Mist, Rock Island Bend

Jack Grace - All Lost

Jack Grace

All Lost

Katy Steele - Human

Katy Steele


Moreton - Specimen



Edward R. - Agrabah

Edward R.


Sahara Beck - Panacea

Sahara Beck



Latest Videos

It Ain't Me Stunt Queen All Lost

Upcoming Gigs

 There is no record found at the moment.

Follow Us